snickerdoodles

Standard

I’m busy.

Really busy.  Like doing productive things, sitting at my desk with an iced coffee tapping furiously, cleaning all the surfaces in my house because I just got new cleaning supplies (and maybe because I’m generally overcaffeinated these days thanks to said iced coffee) busy.

Also, possibly making money.  So I really hope you’ll forgive me for just popping in to drop off these snickerdoodles, which were simple, delicious, and a fun activity for the three-year old and eight-year-old who got to help me make them.  You can use all butter, but I’d recommend the mix of butter and shortening I’ve suggested here.  A little hydrogenated fat won’t kill you.

Snickerdoodles

Adapted from here

3/4 cups (1 1/2 sticks) butter, softened

1/4 cup shortening

1 1/2 cups white sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 3/4 cups flour

2 teaspoons cream of tartar

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup white sugar

3-4 tablespoons cinnamon

Preheat oven to 400*F.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together butter, shortening, 1 1/2 cups sugar, eggs, and vanilla.  Slowly mix in flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt.  Form dough into 1- to 1 1/2-tablespoon sized balls; arrange on prepared baking sheets with at least 2 inches space between each.  Bake 8-10 minutes.  Cool completely.

Leave a Reply

