buckeyes

Standard

So, sometime in the relatively recent past I made chocolate peanut butter surprise cookies, affectionately nicknamed “orgasm balls” by a few of my favorite and most amusingly candid people.  Frankly, I can’t argue.

they're good even without the chocolate

But I’m an overachiever, and I don’t seem to have a reasonable quota for foods that combine chocolate and peanut butter, and then Deb posted these, and damned if I wasn’t sold again.  That woman will either be my inspiration to culinary fame or the death of me (and all of my friends, who are convinced they will have taken their last buttery breaths by 35 and will be lying heavily in their 400-pound graves).

dipped

These won’t do that to you, though.  Not according to my boss, at least – who, when he brought a hefty corner of a dense, warm, and heavily-chocolated cookie to my desk the other day, insisted that it had no calories because it was “just a piece.”  There’s your solution, folks!  Break these babies in half (and they’re already small; aren’t you virtuous?) and share with a friend.  Bathing suit shopping will be a breeze.

Speaking of my boss(es), I have them to thank for the newest, handiest, and cheeriest addition to the family over here.  As I was plowing through a foot-high stack of copying today, they called me into one of their offices.  “It’ll just take a second,” they said.  “Let me finish this document,”  I said.  I walked in.  They gestured toward a corner of the room.  “Could you take this up front for us?” they said.  “Where do you want me to put it?” I said.  I failed to register that they were referring to a box containing a shiny red KitchenAid stand mixer.  They stopped and grinned.  “You could just put it your car,” they said.  And then my butt was on the couch, because my knees couldn’t believe that they had just bought me a KitchenAid.

aren't I beautiful?

So here it is, red and cheery and adorable.  I think it needs a name.  Also, make these buckeyes.

 

Buckeyes

Adapted from here

Yield: 36 to 42 tablespoon-sized candies

1/4 cup (2 ounces) cream cheese, softened
1 1/2 cups peanut butter
1 cup graham cracker crumbs (from about 14 graham crackers)
Pinch salt
3 cups confectioners’ (powdered) sugar
10 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks or 5 ounces) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
12 ounces dark chocolate (60 to 72%), coarsely chopped

Make the filling: In the bowl of an electric mixer, beat the cream cheese and peanut butter together until combined. Add the graham cracker crumbs and beat for 10 seconds. Add the sugar and butter, and mix on the lowest speed until it starts coming together, then increase the speed until the ingredients are combined. Scrape down the whole bowl well, then mix again. The mixture will be sturdy and a little dry. Set it aside while you prepare the coating.

Make the coating: Melt the chocolate either over a double boiler, stirring until it is completely smooth or in a microwave in 30- then 10-second increments, stirring before you zap it again until it is completely smooth. Let it cool to tepid while you shape the peanut butter centers.

Assemble: Line a sheet pan with parchment paper. Scoop out slightly more than one tablespoon’s worth of filling and form it into a ball. Place the ball on the prepared sheet and repeat the process until all of the candies have been shaped – just make sure they’re not touching on the sheet.

Using a fork or skewer, dip each ball into the chocolate and roll it about so that almost the entire candy is covered, leaving a small circle uncoated. Chill the buckeyes until they are set, about 30 minutes.

 

2 thoughts on “buckeyes

Leave a Reply

