snickers cheesecake cookies

Standard

There are some words that you just can’t ignore when you see them in combination.  The words “browned butter” with anything, for example – you could probably drizzle a pillowcase with browned butter and it would be delicious.  And a lot of times, I don’t expect them – they just sneak up and all of a sudden, I’m up to my elbows in s’mores pie or carrot cake ice cream.

fill the cups with batter

This was absolutely, unequivocally one of those.  I have a to-bake list that’s at least a page long, but when I stumbled on this recipe on Tastespotting, it was immediately bumped to the top.

chopped-up snickers. save something for the cheesecakes

It has everything that draws me, every single time, to a recipe: chopped-up something (candy!  Even better), multiple layers (in this case, in the form of a graham cracker crust – which, it occurs to me, I’ve been making a lot of lately), and it’s mini!  For some reason, bite-sized food is so much more attractive to me – to eat, to bake, anything.  I made some regular-sized ones too, but I have to say, the little guys were the best.

distribute evenly

A few notes: I didn’t use the caramel that’s in the original recipe (linked above and below) – you certainly could, but I didn’t have any, and I thought the recipe was decadent enough as is.  I had a bit of a problem with the Snickers pieces melting in the oven, too; next time, I might try freezing the chopped-up bars before baking (it’s really hard to cut up a frozen Snickers bar, as I learned) and/or putting them in 10 minutes or so into baking.  Also, make sure you don’t overfill these!  It makes it pretty difficult to get the little guys out without mutilating them.  Not that cheesecake is made less good by its aesthetics, of course.

now eat!

I’ve included the recipe as I made it – without the caramel and whipped cream, and replacing some of the graham cracker crumbs with flour, a bit of sugar, and salt.  Make them either way.  I guarantee you’ll make friends.

 

Snickers Caramel Cheesecake Cookies

Adapted from The Capitol Baker

Ingredients

2 cups graham cracker crumbs

½ cup flour

¼ cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

8 Tbsp butter, melted

3 Tbsp sugar

2 cups chopped Snickers bars

16 oz. cream cheese, at room temperature

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 Tbsp. vanilla extract

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Place the chopped Snickers bars into a bowl and set aside for later [*Alli’s note:  Try putting in the freezer to avoid melting in the oven].  Place the graham cracker crumbs, 1/4 cup sugar, flour, salt, and melted butter into a mixing bowl to combine.  Place a couple of spoonfuls of crumbs into each mini muffin tin and press down and up the sides a bit.  Bake for 5 minutes or until just browned.  Remove from the oven.

In a stand or electric mixer, beat the cream cheese and sugar until smooth and creamy.  Add in the eggs and vanilla until well combined, scraping the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula. Fill each cup to just below the top, then sprinkle evenly with chopped Snickers bars.  Bake for 23-26 minutes or until cheesecake edges are just starting to brown and the centers are nearly set.  Remove and let cool completely. While still warm, loosen all of the edges with a plastic knife to make for easier removal from pan.  Refrigerate once cooled.

2 thoughts on “snickers cheesecake cookies

  1. Katie Guarino

    I have to have this!!!!! I can see this becoming an obsession. This is a great blog Allison! I can’t wait to see what else you post!

Leave a Reply

