chocolate chunk cookies

Standard

hello, old friends.

There’s a part of me that can’t believe that I’m posting about chocolate chip cookies (chocolate chunk, actually,  but I’ll get to that later), because why would you read a blog for that?  Everyone knows how to make chocolate chip cookies, and these aren’t even the NYT version, the one with three different flours that requires something like 48 hours of resting time.  But chocolate chip cookies made my reputation as a baker in high school.  I brought a freshly baked plate to a drama club party (I know, I know) as a freshman, and one of the cool upperclassmen tasted one and spread the word to everyone at the party that “OHMIGOD Alli’s cookies.  Have you tasted Alli’s cookies?  Alli’s cookies Alli’s cookies cookies cookies.” and damned if that didn’t send me on a baking tear that still continues today.

pour in chocolate...

These, ironically, are not those cookies.  I grew up baking the Toll House version, and while they did attract a good-sized legion of fans, I prefer these.  My problem with the Toll House recipe was that I like my cookies soft and chewy – not crisp, not cakey – and the old standby spread a little too much, even flouting impatient hours of chilling.  This recipe has less egg, more flour, and doesn’t need to be made with shortening to keep spreading in check.  See?  Healthy.

you may want to give these a taste at this stage. for quality control.

…Okay, so maybe not, but you’re going to need every excuse you can come up with as to why it’s okay to eat four of these in a sitting, or six, or twelve (it’s been done).  If you put nuts in there, you can argue for healthy fats, and doesn’t dark chocolate have antioxidants?  You’re welcome.

Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Adapted generously from David Liebovitz via Deb (of course)

These cookies are tremendously versatile; I’ve even omitted the chocolate and rolled them in cinnamon sugar for a snickerdoodle-style incarnation.  The recipe below includes all of my changes (some of them fairly significant); you can find the original linked above.

1/4 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar

8 tablespoons (1 stick) salted butter, softened

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract [*Allison’s note: I always go a little overboard here]

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon salt [*Allison’s note: I tend to be a bit heavy-handed with the salt because I love that salty-sweet combination and I think it enhances the other flavors; feel free to use as little or as much as you’d like.]

2 full-sized bars milk chocolate, chopped

2 full-sized bars dark chocolate, chopped

Chocolate chips, if that’s not enough chocolate for you already

 

Preheat oven to 310˚ F.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

Beat butter and sugars until smooth.  Stir in egg, vanilla, and baking soda.

Stir together flour and salt.  Mix into batter until just combined (cookies will be tough if overmixed).  Stir in chocolate chunks (and chips, if using).

Scoop dough by the tablespoon onto prepared sheets, spaced 4 inches apart (I got 8 per sheet).  Bake 15-18 minutes, or until golden brown.  Remove to cooling racks.  Eat.

Leave a Reply

