dancing barefoot

Standard

I have Mila Kunis to thank for this painting.

 

I wish I had a better camera.

 

If anyone doesn’t know by now, I have a major bit of a girl crush on Mila Kunis (also Natalie Portman, but that’s another story).  The reference photo for this painting was so elegant and fresh, and the light was beautiful, and I suck at drapery, and oh look, drapery!

Like pretty much all of my paintings, I don’t know how I feel about it, though.  I should have started with some kind of background, but I was so excited about the figure that I completely threw that aside.  I think the drapery actually came out okay – much looser than I usually end up with (I’m scared of drapery), and it still reads decently as fabric.

It feels unfinished, but I don’t want to risk really messing it up by adding a background.  I’m not totally sure if the stark white thing works, but it’ll have to for now.  The bummer about watercolor is that it’s hard to unify these major elements (background and foreground or figure, for example) if you paint them at separate times.  On the plus side, though, my brushwork has gotten a lot looser and more relaxed – not only have I kind of come to terms with the whole relinquishing control bit, but I feel like I’m able to work with the water now instead of just letting it do its thing.  I’m done analyzing, though.  Now I need more inspiration…

Images © Allison Wachtel, 2010.

One thought on “dancing barefoot

  1. Ace

    Hi, do you have a link or a copy of the reference photo? The painting looks really nice and it would be cool to see the reference too.

Leave a Reply

