almond roca

Standard

If you know me, you know that I love my job.  Love my job.  I’ve literally never worked in an environment better than this one.  I’m not even officially an employee (it’s technically an internship), but I still feel like I’ve collectively been adopted as the little sister.  That’s just how these people are.

They are SO cool, in fact, that one of my bosses recently offered, with the greatest sincerity, to help me out with something that he had no obligation to even acknowledge.  In my world, there’s really no better way to express gratitude for…yeah, okay, anything…than with butter, sugar, and chocolate.

 

It's like a cornucopia. Of toffee.

 

Although it’s not the most complex recipe I could have picked, the fact that he’s offered me both almond roca and chocolate-covered almonds on multiple occasions sold me.  To be honest, it wasn’t exactly what I’d had in mind – the toffee part was fairly soft, as opposed to snappy and crunchy like I was expecting (isn’t store-bought almond roca fairly hard, or am I making that up?) – but there’s no denying what it did have going for it: it was DELICIOUS.  Sometimes I feel bad for not going with super-advanced recipes when I bake for other people; there was precisely none of that nonsense here.  Make this, make it now, and make more than you think you’ll need.  Just trust me.

 

Okay, so I just realized that all these pictures all look the same - I promise they're not; I just can't resist closeups of toffee and chocolate.

 

Almond Roca

Adapted from Elizabeth LaBau at about.com

I doubled this recipe and made it in a 13×9 pan lined with greased foil, and it worked perfectly.  The foil a. saves you from having to wash a pan and b. makes for easy removal.

Ingredients:

3 ½ ounces almonds, toasted and coarsely chopped

1 stick butter

¾ cup brown sugar

6 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped

Sea salt, for sprinkling

Instructions:

Spray a 9-inch pie pan with nonstick cooking spray.  Cover the bottom of the pan with the chopped almonds, reserving 2 tablespoons.

Place the butter in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat until fully melted.  Add the brown sugar and stir constantly with a wooden spoon for seven minutes.

Immediately pour the hot sugar mixture over the almonds and spread smoothly to the edges with a spatula.  While mixture is still hot, sprinkle the chopped chocolate on top.  Let the chocolate soften and melt; smooth evenly with a spatula.  Sprinkle the top with the reserved chopped almonds and sea salt while the chocolate is still wet.  Place in freezer for 20 minutes to set.

Remove from freezer and break apart.  Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to a week (yeah, like it’ll last that long).

Leave a Reply

