playing catch-up

Whoooo’s a slacker?

Okay, that might not be true.  I might have gotten two new jobs, found an apartment,  moved my whole life thirty miles southish, and put out sundry fires associated with all of those things in the last month and a half.  Which is cool for me, but maybe not so cool for anyone who was actually expecting some kind of content from this blog.

Also, I’ve been feverish and hacking my lungs out on my boyfriend’s couch for the last week, and what a saint he is for not throwing me out on the street until my apartment opens up.  So there’s that.

Maple brown sugar pound cake

Since we last spoke, there have been Funfetti swirl cookies, a maple brown sugar pound cake, some actually kind of delicious macrobiotic vegan cookies, and a delicious two-layer brown sugar pound cake with dark chocolate ganache (which, unfortunately, was devoured before it could be photographed).

Funfetti swirl cookies

Today, we’ll kill two birds with one stone.  I’m going to direct you over to Peabody’s page for the Funfetti cookies pictured above – which were delicious as well as downright adorable – and write out this very simple vegan cookie recipe.  We have a self-proclaimed “level 12 vegan” in our offices who, in addition to following all of the regular vegan rules, doesn’t eat any processed sugars.  I based this recipe on one I found on Allrecipes, but I’ve printed it here to reflect the changes I made.

I know people turn up their noses at vegan desserts, but I’ll say one thing: they sure don’t get as pissed when you bring them in at breakfast time.

Ugly but rather tasty vegan cookies

Macrobiotic Vegan Cookies

1 cup almonds, toasted

1/2 cup oat flour

3/4 cups oats

1/2 cup maple syrup

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

Preheat oven to 275 degrees Fahrenheit.  Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.

Pulse almonds in a food processor until they reach desired consistency (coarse or fine meal).  In a large bowl, stir together almonds, oat flour, oats, maple syrup, vanilla extract, and salt until thoroughly combined.

Form mixture into 2-tablespoon-sized balls; flatten slightly.  Arrange on prepared baking sheets.  Bake 12-15 minutes, or until edges are brown.  Remove carefully and cool completely on racks.

Leave a Reply

